Gorillaz Release Details Of Comeback Album 'Humanz'

Adjust Comment Print

After almost six years in limbo, the Gorillaz, the animated musical brainchild of Blur frontman Damon Albarn and animator Jamie Hewlett, are back with new music, releasing an onslaught of new media Thursday afternoon. Earlier today, as Pitchfork points out, four new Gorillaz popped up on TIDAL (they weren't available to actually stream), though they've since been removed.

Gorillaz announced Thursday they will be releasing a new album titled "Humanz" on April 28. Momentz feat. De La Soul5.

The incredible list of features includes Grace Jones, Danny Brown, De La Soul, Mavis Staples, Pusha T, Kali Uchis, Kelela, Vince Staples, Popcaan, D.R.A.M., Jehnny Beth (Savages), Jamie Principle, Kilo Kish, Anthony Hamilton, Peven Everrtt, and Zebra Katz. We play it slightly different live then how it is on the record. Today, we're one step closer to that album. Benjamin Clementine14. We Got The Power feat.

The bands fifth studio album will act as the follow up to 2011's "The Fall".

He previously said: "Later in the year we'll be starting to get the whole Gorillaz thing together".

The virtual band was conceived by Damon and visual artist Jamie in 1998, but none of the personas are reflective of the real life musicians involved in the project.